Ocala First Assembly was launched in 1935 during the height of the great depression. True to those times it began with the most meager of resources – a small 20′ X 30′ building constructed on borrowed property, lighting provided by oil lamps, benches made from wood used in the construction of orange crates and flooring covered with fresh sawdust. There was not much to the facility but that did not stop the word from spreading about the church on the other side of the railroad tracks where God was moving. Soon people began to come from across the city to attend services where many found Christ and were filled with the Holy Spirit.
Over the years the church changed buildings, pastors and locations a number of times until moving to its current campus on N.E. 14th Street in the 1960’s. In the 1980’s it reached the place where it was necessary to construct its current 1,200 seat sanctuary – a big change from its original 600 square foot facility and powerful evidence of God’s blessings on the church.
Regardless of the building, pastor or location, the congregation of First Assembly maintained their determination to be that place where people find Christ and experience the presence of the Holy Spirit as they experience His dynamic power to change lives. From our very earliest days we believe that God raised us up in Ocala to share his Good News and to produce vibrant followers of Jesus Christ.